This one’s right.

It’s 10ish in the morning again, and before I buckle down to make french toast, I have a little story…

In March of 2003, 4-year-old Colton Burpo underwent multiple surgeries because of a ruptured appendix. During his second surgery, Colton clinically died. Colton later reported to his parents that he went to Heaven, saw Jesus, his great-grandpa in a younger body (he had never seen an image of his great-grandpa), angels, apostles and more people.

Sometime in 2003, child prodigy Akiane Kramarik, age 8, painted a work called “Prince of Peace”. Her art began at age 4, when she suddenly started sketching profusely because of visions of people in her mind. She also reports visits to Heaven. Her parents, non-religious, were amazed, and they supported her work, eventually landing her on a CNN broadcast, not to mention various talk shows.

Colton was shown the painting, years after his recovery. His parents had shown him many paintings of Christ, none of which satisfied their son, but on Colton’s viewing of  “Prince of Peace” Colton’s father writes:

He turned to the screen and for a long moment said nothing.
“Colton?”
But he just stood there, studying. I couldn’t read his expression.
“What’s wrong with this one Colton?” I said again.
Utter silence.
I nudged him in the arm. “Colton?”
My seven-year-old turned to look at me and said, “Dad, that one’s right.”

Photo used by permission from Raphael of Akiane Gallery

 

The reason I’m posting this story is because of a little story of my own.

After helping a friend with her moving sale, she began unloading a bunch of unsold household items onto my husband and I. She told me to look through the books and I stumbled across a little yellow one called “Heaven is for Real” (the story of Colton Burpo). On one of the front pages, this verse was written:

“I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.” (Matt  18:3)

Interestingly, I had read that verse earlier that day! So yeah, it got my attention. It was also neat to hear Akiane mentioned in the book, someone who I had already investigated years ago.

Ok, toast is waiting.

More about Colton Burpo: http://heavenisforreal.net/
More about Akiane Kramarik: http://www.akiane.com/
More about Toast: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c7NqSu1Wk0Y

Leave a Reply

